Another year older…

So this week was my birthday. If I’m honest it wasn’t the best! There are lots of issues with both our adopted children at the moment. It’s been one thing after the other. On top of that I got a sore throat the day before my birthday which then developed into a cold as well, so I felt rubbish; still don’t feel that great.

I had a lovely breakfast at my mum’s house. While I was there, I inevitably thought about Dad, remembering my birthday ten years ago, before he went to heaven. This last decade has been terrible. I don’t think I could have imagined the amount of stress that adopting two children could bring into my life. If I could go back in time one decade… and not just to see Dad again.

Later that morning a friend came round with presents for me; a friend I didn’t know a decade ago, or even five years ago.  And into my head popped this quotation (of course!):

‘Prosperity is not without many fears and distastes; adversity not without many comforts and hopes.’ (Francis Bacon)

As I look back over the last decade of adversity, I’m glad to say there have been many comforts… good friends (including Mum in that) being the main one.

 

Leave a comment